h1

Weekly request for more Indiana blogs

June 9, 2008

As you may remember I said a little while ago that I was looking for some Indiana blogs to add to my reading list and that I would be repeating that request, well, here it is.

I’m on the hunt for humanities-related Indiana blogs….always. Last time I quoted and linked to some things on the Indiana Humanities Council webstite that might explain what it is I’m looking for, and if so, you can now search the Hoosierati archives to find that particular post (or just click here). But I thought I might explain things a bit differently this time ’round.

Literature, language(s), history, art(s), culture, and philosophy are the primary subjects that are widely recognized as “the humanities,” but basically anything qualifies depending on how that subject is treated (and certain subject more readily wiggle their way in: sociology, political science, jurisprudence, economics).

So, perhaps the easiest way to understand what I’m talking about is to read the instructions on how to make a cappuccino in the directions included with your new Mr. Coffee espresso machine, and then read Anne Fadiman’s essay on coffee in her latest book. In both pieces, coffee is the object under scrutiny. One is a basic list of ingredients (coffee beans, water, milk, sugar) and step by step instructions on how to produce a finished coffee product. The other is a thoughtful treatment of a subject of great emotional, intellectual, and physical importance to the author that takes into account the history of the subject, as well as that of the author herself. It includes trivial bits of chemistry and biology, but it also places all of it into a larger cultural context–a culture in which coffee and the author are both a part.

As it says on the IHC site, it’s not what we talk about, it’s how we talk about it. So if you know of a blog where the topics might not be “the humanities” but the conversation is good, you should let me know anyway.

Of course, there is another problem with the search. Most of the blogs I have run across are from here in Indianapolis, and there’s good reason for that. There are roughly six million people in the state of Indiana, about 1/8 of them live here in Indianapolis. So I figure that Indianapolis bloggers will make up a larger percentage of my potential reading list compared to other municipalities/regions. However, Indianapolis should still be outnumbered roughly 7-to-1 compared with the rest of the state (of course ignoring that urban areas might be more blog-friendly than rural areas–so let’s just say 5-to-1, it’s easier to figure anyway.

I would like to add more blogs to the IHC blogroll but more importantly I would like to be reading more blogs so I have a better picture of what’s going on out there. So tell me, Hoosierati, what are reading?

So the short of it is (you can read the long of it on the previous post) I need Indiana, humanities blogs, preferably written here in the state, and I would like to be reading a good selection of blogs from Not Indianapolis.

Leave a Reply

