h1

Friday Blincoln Blog

June 13, 2008

I’m going to get at Lincoln in a very roundabout fashion for today’s Blincoln Blog. I was reviewing the list of the grants that the IHC awarded in its second 2008 round and I noticed that one of them went to the Lew Wallace Study Preservation Society. I thought the name, Lew Wallace, sounded familiar, so I looked him up. And let me just tell you, he’s an impressive cat.

I first learned of Lew Wallace’s Indiana connection when I was working as an intern for the Governor’s Council for Physical Fitness and Sports a few years ago. INShape Indiana’s office was right on The Circle in downtown Indianapolis and that’s when I first began taking an interest in the architecture here.

Several buildings would stand out enough for me to look up after my lunch break was over and the Blacherne was one. Or, more accurately, the Blacherne is a fine looking building but it has it’s name written on it, which makes it easy to remember and look up. And that’s when I learned about Lew Wallace, Civil War general, and architect.

I also learned that tidbit that he is certainly most famous for: He is the author of Ben Hur: A Tale of the Christ, a book that, Wikipeidia will tell, you has never been out of print in 137 years and has had been adapted to film an incredible four times.

In addition to battlefield and authorial success (and architectural) Wallace also served as governor of the New Mexico territory and as the U.S. Minister to the Ottoman Empire. The list really goes on and on.

He was born in Brookville, Indiana and died in Crawfordsville.

Abraham Lincoln connection:

Well, in addition to serving in the Union Army, he also served on the military commission that tried Lincoln’s assassins.

Leave a Reply

