h1

Perennials–Short and Tall

June 16, 2008

If one were to look over to the right hand column they would notice that one of the permanent pages on this blog is titled About… ….Hoosierati. On that page, yours truly freely admits that he is a lazy gardener. A perfectly accurate descriptor to which I will also add “stubborn” and also thanks to this year also, “failed.”

But I’m running fatally close to total blog derailment.

What I wanted to say is that someone should buy me this book. Perennials aren’t often as showy and vibrant as the annuals but I loathe the idea of planting a bunch of flowers just to pull them up and toss them on the compost pile at the end of their season. Moreso, I hate the idea of planting and then ripping up various flowers one after the other all spring, summer, and fall long just so it can look like I care about my lawn.

I know it seems that I’m a gardener that doesn’t love gardening. That’s not totally true. I just don’t love gardening all the time. I want my garden to be able to run on cruise control when I get busy at work or on an unrelated side project. For that, I have always turned to perennials.

2 comments

  1. I checked the book out that you’re talking about and it wasn’t super helpful. But then, I had or knew about all of the flowers listed already; the selection of plants is fairly small. Plus, just b/c it’s a perennial doesn’t mean it’s not high maintenance.

    If you want flowers that are really going to do all the work for you (and I’m not judging, those are the best kind), go to Amazon and type in “Indiana Native Flowers.” Those will probably be more helpful, b/c made to live in our environs. You can find a lot of native plants at the greenhouse at the IMA.


  2. Oh trust me, thanks to my horribly failed experiment in container gardening this year, I am fully aware that even perennials can start with headaches and end in heartache.



Leave a Reply

